The Official Launching Event of the


was held on the 4th of October 2011

at the European Parliament

 Event Programme

Some impressions of the event:             

MEP Vittorio Prodi MEP Jo Leinen MEP Bas Eickhout
Host MEP Vittorio Prodi Co-host MEP Jo Leinen Co-host MEP Bas Eickhout


Prof. Paul Crutzen, Nobel Prize winner for Chemistry in 1995 gave the ceremonial lecture entitled:

"Atmospheric Chemistry and Climate in the Anthropocene"

Prof. Paul Crutzen


Robert-Jan Smits

Robert-Jan Smits, European Commission, Director-General DG Research and Innovation

"Future R & I policy including climate research"


Prof. Karin Lochte, chair of the ECRA Executive Committee eludidated in her speech the motto of ECRA:

"The European Climate Research Alliance – combining European capacities"

 Prof. Karin Lochte



In order to achieve an increased effectiveness in the field of climate (change) research, research organizations and institutes must bundle their scientific competences and infrastructure capacities, establish an effective network and develop joint strategies. Successful research requires collaboration!

On the 4th October 2011, the European Climate Research Alliance (ECRA) has been launched at the European Parliament in Brussels under the patronage of the MEP Vittorio Prodi and the participation of MEP Jo Leinen, MEP Bas Eickhout, the Director-General of DG Research and Innovation of the European Commission Robert-Jan Smits, a representative of the DG Climate Action Torsten Wöllert, of the Nobel Prize winner Paul J. Crutzen and many of the CEOs of the founding members.

Eight leading European climate research organizations from Denmark, Finland, Germany, Italy, the Netherlands, Norway, Spain and Sweden (DTU, FMI, Helmholtz, ENEA, KNMI, NMI, CIEMAT, SMHI) have officially celebrated their commitment to build up the European Climate Research Alliance, with the objective to develop a sustainable network of leading research organizations that will focus their research and innovation activities on the scientific challenges in the field of climate (change) research.

Through the European Climate Research Alliance, the founding organizations and institutes have committed themselves in the durable integration of excellent but often dispersed research capacities across Europe in order to ensure optimum use of human resources, modelling capacities, field activities and infrastructures, maximising therefore the impact of scientific results and reinforcing the European Research Area for climate change science.

The participating research organizations and institutes will be implementing Collaborative Programmes in form of multi-annual Strategic Research Agendas, shaping the international standards, and establishing sustainable networks with international research partners and different stakeholders involved, including industry.


Founding members: Technical University of Denmark (DTU), Finnish Meteorological Institute (FMI), Helmholtz Association of German Research Centres (HGF), Italian National Agency for New Technologies, Energy and Sustainable Economic Development (ENEA), Royal Netherlands Meteorological Institute (KNMI), Norwegian Meteorological Institute on behalf of Norwegian Climate Centre (NMI), Research Centre for Energy, Environment and Technology of Spain (CIEMAT) and Swedish Meteorological and Hydrological Institute (SMHI)

Back to top